top of page

The Beginning of Something New & Old


The kids and I have started on a new garden patch. We thought we would use only what we already have around the farm and see what we could come up with. After a few days of digging up the carpet weed, turning over the rock hard mulch, adding horse poo and soil from our chickens, we were ready to begin planting! The plants we are planting are lots of different kind of geraniums and succulents as we have discovered that they seem to be able to cope very well in our harsh weather conditions. We often have extremely hot, dry summers with temperatures over 40 degrees. Our winters are often cold, wet and windy with quite a few frosty nights. Geraniums are my favourite plant, I have always loved them. I'm often amazed to find that even when I haven't looked after them properly, they still grow strong and bloom all year round. Succulents at first, were not that appealing to me, until I discovered how pretty they can be when they bloom, how strong and tough they are, throughout almost any weather condition or neglect by me.

The Big Dig. Followed by lots of water to try and break up the rock hard ground we have, even after an almighty wet winter.

This is what we came up with! We have three different Succulents and nine different Geraniums planted. Now it's time to start digging up the next section.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page